Moving Australia


Parliamentary Friendship Group for Better Cities

Mission Statement:

The Parliamentary Friendship Group for Better Cities will work together to make Australia’s capital and major cities more liveable, more resilient and more productive.

Who we are

The Parliamentary Friendship Group for Better Cities was established in 2014 by the BIC with co-conveners from the Government, Opposition and Cross Benches and like minded national organisations. 

The three co-conveners of the Parliamentary Friendship Group for Better Cities are:

Mr Dave Sharma MP, Member for Wentworth

Mr Andrew Giles MP, Member for Scullin  

Senator Janet Rice, Senator for Victoria


There are 15 national organisations who act as Supporter Members to the Parliamentary Friendship Group for Better Cities. These organisations are represented at functions and meetings by a number of key people from each organisation. 


To find out more about our events visit the Better Cities Events page. 


Australian Institute of Landscape Architects  


Catherine Horner, National Manager, Finance and Business Operations

Caroline Odgers, National Manager, Marketing and Development
Australasian Railway Association  

Caroline Wilkie, CEO

Emma Woods, General Manager Passenger and Member Services
Australian Sustainable Built Environment Council  Suzanne Toumbourou, Executive Director
Bus Industry Confederation of Australia  Madonna Woodhead, National Operations Manager
Consult Australia Nicola Grayson, acting CEO
Council of Capital City Lord Mayors Deborah Wilkinson, Executive Director
Green Building Council of Australia

Davina Rooney, CEO

Jonathan Cartledge, Head of Public Affairs & Membership
National Heart Foundation Duncan Bremner, General Manager Public Affairs
National Growth Areas Alliance Bronwen Clark, Acting CEO
Outdoor Media Association

Charmaine Moldrich, CEO

Kirsten Samuels, Senior Policy Adviser
Planning Institute of Australia 

David Williams, CEO
Property Council of Australia

Ken Morrison, CEO

Richard Lindsay, Government Relations Manager
Real Estate Institute of Australia  Anna Neelagama, CEO
  International Association of Public Transport, Australia and New Zealand    

Michelle Batsas, Executive Director

Ange Anczewska, General Manager
We Ride Australia

Peter Bourke, General Manager

Stephen Hodge, Government Relations Manager

What we represent 

Better Process

Better processes surrounding the identification, development, selection and design of urban renewal and growth projects relating to public space, commercial space, housing, transport, amenity and employment.

Key focuses in this area will be:

Better Institutions

Better institutions will define the interrelationships between the Commonwealth, State and Local Governments in developing and implanting policy and delivering projects in our capital and major cities.

Key focuses in this area will be:

Better Funding

Better funding arrangements relate to how infrastructure and services may be priced in Australia in the future and how the revenue from these pricing arrangements is delivered to Governments.

Key focuses in this area will be:

Better Efficiency

Better efficiency will address how capital and major cities identify best use of existing infrastructure, space and the existing urban form to drive economic and environmental efficiencies and reflect these in strategic planning, projects and policy development.

Key focuses in this area will be:


By visiting this website, viewing, accessing or otherwise using any of the services or information created, collected, compiled or submitted you agree to be bound by the following the full terms of the OzeBusDisclaimer.
If you do not want to be bound by our the terms of our Disclaimer your only option is not to visit, view or otherwise use the services of the OzeBus website. Read the full OzebusDisclaimer.

Copyright © 2014 Bus Industry Confederation Inc. All rights reserved Terms | Contact Us